I Want A Raging Storm

So it has been awhile since my Walk Fund has received any donations. It makes me sad, but at the same time I am so blessed to have received such amazing support from the people in my life. I have exceeded my target goal that I set for myself.

I have been talking with two of the bigger autism groups in our area. I actually went to one of their offices to donate two of my paintings for a silent auction. They needed to look up a phone number while I was there and pulled out a Rolodex. Haven’t seen one of those in awhile.

Both groups have a lot of trouble meeting their target fundraising goals and one lady doesn’t even meet her salary amount. These are amazing, extremely helpful people working with ancient equipment and a lot of volunteer hours.

So when my family was struggling for years during the dark ages of getting a diagnosis for Tyler, there were people willing to help but unable to because of lack of support.

These are all people with a dream like mine. A dream to help people with autism. A passion left unfulfilled and riddled with hardship.

I crave for a way to help them. I yearn to open the doors of autism advocacy. I thirst for a river instead of a trickle. I dream of a day when people who devote their livelihood to the improvement of a child’s life, my child’s life, will be blessed and provided the opportunity to fulfill their calling.

I want to look into the eyes of mother whose child has autism and not see the anguish and darkness that I know are in my eyes as well.

I want to say thank you to those who say yes when all they hear day after day is no.

I want to thank the families that came before me and who suffered even greater obstacles so that our way was made easier.

I want to be able to tell the families that come after that it will be better than it is now.

Autistic children struggle every day to live in our world of noise and theory and constant social dances. They bring to us beauty in detail, joy in accomplishment, vision outside our own, clarity within the noise, and love distilled.

I will never be able to repay Tyler for all the things he has given me. I will never be able to repay all the families that came before us.

But I want to do something about the darkness and anguish in a mother’s eyes. I want to do something about supporting those who dream of helping children like Tyler.

I want my Walk Fund to be more than a donation. I want it to be a statement to the autism community and to the families that come after that things are changing and that the world is behind them.

I want a storm. A booming thunderclap. A raging rain that leaves behind a cleansed and fragrant landscape – a place where the weary can rest and the downtrodden can lift their eyes.

I want a Beginning.

Just click on the link below and check out the Walk and my fund. Consider what you are looking at. Search your heart for what world you dream of. Is my dream a part of it?

http://www.walknowforautismspeaks.org/arkansas/rflinchum

From my heart,
Rachel

(C) Rachel Flinchum 8/8/2013

20130808-121657.jpg

Please let me know your thoughts!

