Good Moments and New Beginnings

We went shopping for school clothes last night. We spent $300 and realized after we checked out that all of Tyler’s shirts were long-sleeved. Things were so crazy that I never thought to unfold the shirts when I grabbed them. The whole family was there, so Benny and I spent most of our time wrangling Tyler and Ash. Everything bought was for Tyler, except for a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle shirt that I bought to sleep in and some running shoes for me.

There are things that I can appreciate more because of Tyler’s autism. Some of these are things that I can see Ash doing that I will never take for granted. When we are out in public with Ash, if he gets within 10 feet of a stranger he is going to look them in the eye, wave, and say, “Hi!” And the startled person will almost always get a big smile on their face and say hi back. I love watching him do this. He is giving people a good moment and it warms my heart every time.

Ash also does not like to hold hands with an adult. He wants to run wild and free. Tyler is not so fond of this idea. As a result, I was able to capture a precious moment between the two boys last night as we were on our way to checkout.  If you look closely, you can see Tyler’s death grip on Ash.  No more running wild for my little Ashy-man tonight.  Luckily for us, Ash understands that Bo-Bo’s gotta stick together.  =)

20130816-103947.jpg

I am also loving my new running shoes. They helped me jog 5K in 47 minutes last night. A new record for time spent jogging and for distance. My ankles do not like this new development, but my feet thank me for investing in them. Before I was running in shoes that had no support. They were a small step up from flats because they wrapped around the top of foot so they wouldn’t fall off. Jogging in them sounded like a knee board being slapped broadside onto water. So while I hated to invest in new shoes, I am glad that I did. Investing in my jogging/running is important.

So a lot going on. We have the Walk Now for Autism Speaks and the 5K Run in 7 weeks. (My first 5K!) My youngest brother and I are doing both and the Team Ty-Ty Walk Team is 8 members strong. So we are raising support for Autism Speaks and I am getting back in shape. I feel like such a newbie to the advocacy scene…I guess because I am. I wish I knew ways to be more effective in both my fundraising and in generating autism awareness, but Rome was not built in a day.

Tyler starts his 4-year-old school year on Monday. Big step for him and for the family. Will it crash and burn or will it be just what Tyler needs? Probably somewhere in the middle and I am probably going to be doing a lot of breath-holding until the dust settles. And praying. I might sacrifice a chicken or two. He is going to look so precious and small when I drop him off on Monday. I can barely stand to think about it. But imagining him coming home and showing me school work and giving him the chance to make some friends is holding me together…barely.

I also have a big secret. Something I am very proud of and I hope you are able to take a minute to check it out. In about a week, you can find this on Amazon.com, but until then it is just here:

https://www.createspace.com/4402216

From my heart,

Rachel

20130816-104011.jpg

(c) Rachel Flinchum 8/16/2013

 

 

One thought on “Good Moments and New Beginnings

  1. Pingback: Good Moments and New Beginnings | Journey With a Child on "The Spectrum"

Please let me know your thoughts!

