Desert Dry but Still Beating

20130821-140811.jpg

My first ever Walk Now for Autism Speaks is in less than three weeks!  And someone in Europe bought my book.

I kinda feel like a rock star.  A little one.

I also just got off the phone with Tyler’s school.  They scheduled a conference to change Tyler’s diagnosis for therapy from uncategorized to autistic.

I work in a clinical laboratory that provides a prognostic test for multiple myeloma.  Before that I worked in cancer research.  I am very familiar with fundraising for a cause, even if I never hopped right on with the advocacy thing before.  So I had a little bit of a high expectation when I started advocating for autism.  This is WAY different.  Much, much harder.

So the fact that I am going to a Walk with a bunch of other families living with autism and that I sold a copy of my book is awesome.  I have been to a couple of other events leading up to the Walk that had a few people from this community there.  They are amazing people.  People who really want to connect instead of just measure and weigh you.  People who know what you have been through and who know what it is like to go alone.  I am thrilled I am getting to spend the day with these people and the amazing friends and family who are on our Walk Team: Team Ty-Ty.

And…I sold a copy of my book.  To a non-family member.  Someone who I don’t even know.

I also have a t-shirt campaign going right now.  Just started today.  www.trycustomink.com set me up with a Booster campaign.  If I sell at least 20 shirts, they will go to print.  If I sell more than 30, money starts being donated directly to Autism Speaks.  Very cool, but I am nervous about the qty I have to sell.  Gotta try though, right?   The link is http://www.booster.com/tylerstrain.  I love the shirts and I think anyone who gets one will love it too.

Still tired all the time.  Still having trouble with the boys at bedtime.  Still have very little time to do anything and almost no time to myself.  But my autism advocacy just registered a bleep on its heart monitor.

Feels good.

I feel like a cactus that goes all year with no rain.  But then the spring rains never come.  That’s okay.  I am not giving up, no matter how long the dry spell lasts.  And when I do feel a sprinkle, I am going to really feel it.

For more info on the walk, go to http://www.walknowforautismspeaks.org/arkansas/rflinchum

From my heart,

Rachel

(c) Rachel Flinchum 9/17/2013

Please let me know your thoughts!

