Humane Society of Pulaski County Writes Legislation

One of the things I learned in 2013 is that everybody has a cause. Sometimes people are more involved in their cause than others, but everybody has something that tugs on their heartstrings.
In fact, it is very overwhelming the moment you open the door to the world of active support. But the biggest truth I learned was even if you collect 1 roll of paper towels that is 1 more than would have been donated without you.
It is also true that I would donate more often to things if it were more convenient. Hard to admit but true.
So I am turning myself into a drop box. Once a month I am going to pick a charity, make a Facebook event, and then sit in a parking lot to accept goods and donations. This month it is the Humane Society of Pulaski County here in Arkansas.
Their website is www.warmhearts.org. My sister-in-law did a donation drive for them and found out one of their biggest requests was paper towels. Broke my heart.
They are amazing. Not just because they have a no-kill philosophy, not just because they rescue cruelty cases, not just because they rehabilitate these animals, not just because they have volunteers Facebooking like crazy to give them a loving home, not just because they play with the animals and make them happy…all that is true. But the biggest and most amazing thing they do is write and promote legislation that will have long-lasting effects on the welfare of animals.
Legislation is a powerful tool. With legislation you expand your limited resources into the resources of a state or federal government. Animals in Arkansas have more protection under law because of the Humane Society of Pulaski County.
Donate to them this year and receive a small felt applique from me as a thank you. Just message me with your address and I will make it and mail it to you. Patterns and colors will vary. Also check out my Facebook event Humane Society Donation Drive on Jan 26th. Check out the Humane Society or shelter in your area. Donate to them and I will send you an applique as well.

20140112-113626.jpg

From my heart,
Rachel

Please let me know your thoughts!

